23
Jan
12

IHG Road Relay

Written by Kelly Ng

Edited by Ong Hui Shan

On the evening of 19th January, the SRC car park was dotted with colour and cheer. The annual inter-hall road relay championship had all 6 halls vying to be kings and queens of the road. Up against strong competitors and some vicious slopes, the KE runners were determined to give it their all. The girls’ team came in third, making history for securing the podium finish in xx years. We had a short chat with Sophie Ong, a Medicine freshmen, about her virgin road relay experience.

Sophie:

How do you feel now that the race is over?

I feel happy that it (the race) ended on a good note, but I also feel kind of empty. After having trained so hard for the IHG, now it’s over so fast! I think KE did well.

How do you feel about running for KE hall?

It means a lot for me to be part of this team. I feel really proud that I had the chance to run for KE because I had never ran for a competition in my life before! And it definitely feels good to be able to represent KE. J

What was the most memorable part of your IHG experience?

I really enjoyed training with the rest of the team. We “suffered” and pushed so hard together (especially during the slope trainings!), but that really brought us a lot closer.

Any hopes for the relay team next year?

I hope that we’ll be able to improve and get second (place) next year! I believe that we can do even better if we train harder. I will take part in road relay if I am still staying in hall next semester.

_________________________________________________________________________________________  

There was also a strong coalition of fellow ‘hallies’ who came down to support. Among the supporters for the runners were those for the convening captains Bee Somphet and Terence Koek. They had been, for the past year, shouldering an outrageously heavy load as organisers, team captains AND participants of the event. During a brief interview, the men’s team captain Terence expressed gratitude to the KE supporters.

Terence: Supporters play a very important role in all competitions and somehow we just need their cheers and encouragement to push ourselves further. I would like to personally thank my supporters but honestly speaking, I don’t really know who came down as I was had so much to do before, during and after the run! I only wished we had the chance to take a picture with all supporters after the race!

I also want to thank the Hall Master Prof Ho and our JCRC President Mr. Eddie Tan for their support and belief in the road relay team despite the odds that we were up against. Last but certainly not least, I would really like to thank everyone who has helped me in one way or another, be it the road marshals, supporters, event coverage etc!

 

 

 


0 Responses to “IHG Road Relay”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

News from the 54th

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Facebook

Contact Us

If you are looking to have us publish any content for you relating to hall matters in any of our publications, please email:- keviihall[at]gmail.com
January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 229,383 hits

