10
Oct
11

rABbit rampage

Written by Kelly Ng

Edited by Ong Hui Shan

13th September 2011 just wasn’t the best of days – the night sky was foggy and the moon was hardly visible: so much for the mid-autumn festival! Sweaty, tired and frustrated, I dragged my post-training limbs up the “stairway to heaven KE VII”, where I have called home for the past couple of weeks.

Back in my room, I had only just chomped down my dinner at 10pm when the rABbit supper, aptly named after Chang-e‘s beloved Jade Rabbit, kicked off. Enthusiastic (and obviously famished) blockers beckoned, from the grass patches to the corridors, yelling “AB supper! AB supper!” Their hollers seemed to go on forever. I contemplated giving supper a miss again: I had only just eaten after all. But I decided to honour my promise to Vic-ki and soon found myself at my virgin hall supper.

I was welcomed by a sumptuous spread of lovingly home hall-made mooncakes, chocolate roasted S’mores, Singaporean-styled carrot cake (which took our UK friend Edward by surprise), and the typical supper fare of sausages, marshmallows, fruit cocktail and potato salad. This mouth-watering affair, prepared by the dedicated block committee sweethearts, certainly satisfied all the growling tummies of AB blockers.

But beyond the food, I was treated to a large dose of AB hospitality, zest and warmth. Although the lounge was packed, it felt cosy. Despite a long and late night (okay, maybe only to the one who hasn’t gotten in sync with life in hall), I forgot all fatigue and was quickly ‘infected’ by the enthusiasm and excitement around me. Before I knew it, I had more than quadrupled my number of friends in hall. It was great fun matching faces to their majors, sharing plans for the upcoming recess week, and being entertained by Johan and Edward’s “chili showdown”.

After six weeks in KE, this rABbit supper meant something different to everyone: personally, it was my first step to plugging in with the rest of the AB family; for everyone else, it was a fantastic way to re-charge and catch up with one another. What started out as a dull foggy night had certainly been transformed by the effervescent and bubbly AB spirit!

Now put my name down for the next block supper already.

 

 


0 Responses to “rABbit rampage”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

News from the 54th

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Facebook

Contact Us

If you are looking to have us publish any content for you relating to hall matters in any of our publications, please email:- keviihall[at]gmail.com
October 2011
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 229,383 hits

