03
Apr
11

A Royal Encounter with HALL KING AND QUEEN

Interviewed by Koon Tong

Edited by Png Ning

Night of the Black Gold presenting alluring jewels of King Edward VII

The annual KEVII Dinner & Dance 2011: The Night of the Black Gold took place in the Kent Ridge Guild House on the 26th of March 2011. This year’s dinner and dance boasted to have the turnout rate to date. The programs of the night included engaging games, mouthwatering buffet dinner, MAB award presentation and of course the highlight was the KEVII Pageant 10/11.

As the writer for this article, I am privileged to interview the Hall King and Queen and ask them interesting questions. Definitely, after the interview, everyone should know more than just the naughty encounter of the Hall King and amazing memory of the Hall Queen.

WITH THE HALL KING:

The macho Hall King

KE Press: Just before you stepped onto the stage, how confident were you in winning the pageant and the hearts of the crowd?

David: I was 100% sure that I was going to go back with at least one title but [I] certainly didn’t expect myself to be crowned King! In fact, I wasn’t exactly thinking so much about winning per se; just here to have fun and enjoy my time on stage :)

KE Press: After going through with the entire contest, who do you think deserves to be the Hall Queen? and Why?

David: (This is such a tough question! Out to get me into trouble :S) Everyone’s really eligible for the title obviously but I personally thought my partner Annie had a fabulous chance! Yutong of course deserves her award for her fabulous performance that night.

The King parading in Gold

KE Press: Assuming that you did not win the pageant, who is the person whom you think deserves to be the Hall King? and Why?

David: (Not again? Get me into trouble with the guys now) I believe Ryan’s card-throwing stunts and performances that night should have won him the crown.

KE Press: Have you been to other pageant shows (e.g. Faculty Bash, other Hall Bash )? How do you think KEVII pageant fare as compared to the others?

David: (What if I haven’t? I’ve watched bits and pieces of pageants before though) I think KEVII pageant’s got pretty much everything other pageants had, perhaps less of the rather suggestive games/embarrassing couple activities. But we do have specific themes to make it different from conventional pageant competitions!

KE Press: What does being crowned the King mean to you?

David: I think it means a couple more facebook adds and some dubious pick-up lines (Hi I’m Edward, King Edward HAHA). However, it does also mean that people might start forgetting my actual name and only remember me by my title.

Don't I look charming?, says David :)

KE Press: Lastly! I realised that the DnD didn’t have this “corny-thank-the-whole-world session” unlike those MTV Awards or Golden Globe Awards, so here’s your chance! Anyone to thank? It’ll be on the Article! =)

David: Yeah! I was wondering why I didn’t get the chance to thank everyone that night :( But anyway yeah, thanks to all the hallmates who voted for me even if you didn’t know me that well; I must apologise if I hadn’t thanked you guys personally! Also, thanks to Jerwin and Lisa (last year’s winners) for their strong recommendation and support throughout the entire journey I had. Not forgetting too the wonderful committee members Pau, Gehui, Siying, Jason, Jingwen and Zeyu for coordinating everything and accommodating my difficult schedules. Lastly, thank you dad and mom for allowing me to stay in hall and flunk my studies for a year :D

The fair Queen of King Edward VII Hall

WITH THE HALL QUEEN:
KE Press: Just before you stepped onto the stage, how confident were you in winning the pageant and the hearts of the crowd?

Yutong: Honestly, I didn’t’ really expect that much. I was just excited about showing everyone the awesome belly dance that we had been putting in great effort to [perfect every step]!  By the way, I think the moment before stepping onto the stage I was still playing around with Andy’s Pumpkin Hat. It is cute! Haha.

KE Press: After going through with the entire pageant, who do you think deserves to be the Hall King? and Why?

Yutong: Wow, am I supposed to get a “politically correct” answer for this one? =) Well, seriously, I do think everyone stood a chance. If not for the uncooperative audio system, you would be enchanted by Joshua’s singing. Weichong is the buffest, and Ryan has a cute smile. Haha, of course, my charming partner has his unique and catchy ‘Ah Beng’ temperament.
KE Press: Assuming you did not win the pageant, who is the person you think deserves to be the Hall Queen? and Why?

Yutong: Haha, I know this question is coming! Please, love them all!

Queen Amidala rooting for Queen Yutong

KE Press: Have you been to other pageant shows (e.g. Faculty Bash, other Hall Bash )? How do you think KEVII pageant fare as compared to the others?

Yutong: Yep, the ones in CGS and VJC. I gotta say that KE’s was the best of all! The theme was fantastic and the food was great. I believe everyone would think it was really worth the money and had an awesome night out there.

KE Press: What does being crowned Hall Queen mean to you?

Yutong: Well, it means….. I gotta love King Edward VII more?!
KE Press: Lastly, I realised that the DnD didn’t have this “corny-thank-the-whole-world session” unlike those MTV Awards or Golden Globe Awards.  So, here’s your chance! Anyone to thank? It’ll be on the Article! =)

Yutong: I wanna thank King Edward VII for taking me in and taking great care of me; my dearest Dnd Committee and beautiful pageants for sharing this wonderful experience with me… Most importantly, my friends, and my love (ahem..:>), thank you so much for your encouragement and support thoughout the entire period! Without all of you, I would never have this opportunity!

The contestants for 10/11 KEVII Dinner and Dance

This sums up the KEVII Pageant 2011. We would like to congratulate the HALL KING AND QUEEN; David and Yutong, and all the Pageant contestants. Their hard work for the past few months of rehearsing, dieting and training had paid off as they put up a wonderful show for the audience.

Thank you, Your Majesty..


2 Responses to “A Royal Encounter with HALL KING AND QUEEN”


  1. January 6, 2013 at 6:57 PM

    Thanks for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your next post thanks once again.

  2. May 21, 2013 at 10:10 AM

    It’s amazing to visit this web site and reading the views of all colleagues regarding this article, while I am also zealous of getting familiarity.


Leave a Reply

News from the 54th

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Facebook

Contact Us

If you are looking to have us publish any content for you relating to hall matters in any of our publications, please email:- keviihall[at]gmail.com
April 2011
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 229,375 hits

